Asleep no more

I realized when both Republicans and Democrats were for Amnesty that something was terribly wrong.  Do we not believe in the rule of law?  Didn’t our representatives take an oath to uphold the Constitution and the rule of law and to protect us from enemies both foreign and domestic?  Why wouldn’t our government secure our boarders?  Especially after 9/11.  Why do so many of them  publically support lawbreakers?  No Senator would protect me from the consequences if I broke the law.   And if I broke numerous laws (entering illegally, living here illegally, working here illegally, stolen or forged ID’s, driving without license or insurance, using stolen ID to get social services, etc) you can BET I’d be “separated from my family”.

When the results of the 2000 census came out they said 53% of adults living in Los Angeles neither spoke or read English.  I was completely blown away by that statistic.  In 1986 we passed an Amnesty bill.  I remember it well.  I didn’t like it but the government promised us it was a “one time and one time only” amnesty.  The bill included securing the border, more border patrol agents, enforcement of the laws against hiring illegals, stronger penalties against employers hiring illegals, a tamper proof ID card and the requirement that illegals learn English BEFORE becoming a citizen.  At the time, although I was against rewarding lawbreakers with exactly what they wanted (the ability to stay here), I accepted it because I still naively trusted the government to enforce the law.  Clearly, they didn’t.  And I realized at that point, they had never intended to.  The enforcement was put in the bill to appease the voters so they wouldn’t object to rewarding 3 million lawbreakers with our most precious gift, citizenship.  That was my awakening.  I was devastated.  It was like learning your husband didn’t love you and never had.  You realize you’ve been in complete denial.  You’ve been such a fool.  How did you not know?  Everything you thought was true was a lie.  I felt overwhelmed, hopeless and frightened.  I’m only one person.  Who’s going to listen to me?  I understand the inclination to curl up in a ball and give up, but that’s not who I am.  I’ve always believed that if you take action at least you have a chance of success, if you don’t take action, you have no chance.  I had never written or called any of my representatives before.  Now they’re on my speed dial.

About madderthanhell

Retired casting director. Mother of two daughters. Grandmother of twin boys and two step grandsons. Lived in California all my life. Co-organizer of two Tea Parties. Past member of Republican Central Committee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

