LIFE WITHOUT CARS

How did you feel when you got first car? Independent? Free? King of the World? You could go anywhere you wanted any time you wanted. You could take your friends…..and your stuff. How great was that?

I didn’t get a car or a license until I was 21. When I was old enough to get a license your parents had to sign and my father wouldn’t even though I was living on my own and supporting myself. I took a bus to work (hour trip) and back every day or I walked. When I think back on it, I realize how lucky I am to be alive. I can’t tell you how many times I walked home from a party at 1:00AM because my date had too much to drink or my girl friends ditched me. Cars would follow me and I’d turn into a yard pretending I lived there and hide until they left. When I got a car at 21 I finally felt safe and free.

In case you haven’t realized it, our government, state and federal, is slowly forcing us out of our cars. This isn’t a temporary thing and they aren’t kidding. This is the plan. They aren’t just trying to force us to drive less, they plan for us not to have cars at all. Of course the very rich will have cars, but we serfs won’t. Think I’m exaggerating? Why would they do that? Our country (and 178 other countries) agreed to the UN’s Agenda 21 in 1992. Agenda 21’s goals are social, economic and environmental “justice”. Think how many times you’ve heard President Obama talk about “social justice”. According to Agenda 21 America uses too much energy, consumes too much and is too rich. They say that’s just not fair. Agenda 21 requires America to lower it’s standard of living, redistribute it’s wealth and industry around the world and stop using fossil fuels. You may think not using fossil fuels is a good thing, but understand this, there is NO replacement. Air and Wind you say? Biofuels? Well, Air and Wind by 2030 will provide 4% of our energy needs. 4%…….4%. And at about 10 times the cost. That’s NOT a replacement. Biofuels? $26 a gallon? I’m not against alternative energy but we need an abundant, cheap alternative and it needs to be sufficient to completely replace fossil fuels as they are phased out. That is not what is happening. They are phasing out fossil fuels with no viable replacement. Right now coal provides 48% of our energy needs and our government has declared war on coal. They are shutting down coal plants and imposing regulations that make coal impossible to mine and too expensive to use. At the same time they are trying to force us into electric cars that depend on coal power. When the Chairman of the Department of Energy said he wanted gas to cost $10.00 a gallon he wasn’t kidding. Ask yourself why he would want that and how it helps America. Could you afford to drive your car if gas was $10.00 a gallon?

Driving up our energy costs results in less commerce, less driving and a lower standard of living. It also results in restricting our movement……our freedom and our pursuit of happiness. Is this what you want? Think about it. Do you own a home? Do you have friends and family over for get togethers? Dinner parities, Bar-B-Qs? Birthdays, Thanksgiving, Easter, etc.? Think about shopping for your family and bring it all home on a train or bus….or a bike. 10 bags of groceries on a bus? A case of wine on a bike? The Agenda 21 plan calls for multi-use planning. Buildings along transportation corridors that have commercial space on the first floor and 3 or 4 floors of apartments above. There are buildings like this going up in nearly every city across the country. In some areas these buildings don’t provide any parking at all. None. Not even for the commercial space. Their plan is for us to walk, bike or bus in our local areas. In fact, our transportation funds are ONLY being spent on buses, trains and bike paths. How do you take your kids to baseball or soccer with their equipment on a bus? What if you want to do some home (apartment) improvements? How do you take home a new screen door on a bus or a bike? How do you take your grandmother with a walker to her doctor’s visit? Do you want to take two kids and a baby in a stroller on a bus or train? And think long and hard about this; do you want your daughter, wife, mother taking public transportation then walking 2 or 3 blocks home at night? How safe do you think they’d be. Think about your daughters going to a prom on the bus.

Before we had cars, we had horses and wagons. We could still transport the things we needed. Take the buckboard into town and transport the things we needed back home. We could still jump on our horses and go where and when we wanted. Everybody had a horse. Agenda 21 doesn’t consider how people transport groceries or anything else for a family. Even if you have a big wagon to carry things home, where would you store it? In your apartment?

When my daughter and son-in-law remodeled their house they had to move out for 18 months. They rented an apartment in a new building that had every amenity you could think of. An infinity pool on the roof, a Four Seasons quality spa with masseuse, a gym to rival the best in the city, a spinning class, concierge and on and on. The rent started at $5000 a month. The apartments had every high end appliance….but they were small. Bedrooms were small, closets were small and there was virtually no storage. I realized later these were high end Agenda 21 buildings. They were on both sides of a street with commercial space on the first floor. They did have parking and Trader Joes was there, Rite Aid Pharmacy, and several restaurants. Sound convenient, nice? Yes, but at night the trucks came to deliver to the commercial space and their engine ran while unloading, people talked, things banged and when the trucks backed out of the loading areas they went….beep…beep…beep…beep. The restaurants sent steam and smells up to the apartments and noisy when people came and went into late night. For $5000 a month no matter what the amenities it wasn’t the way I want to live. I want a yard. I want a pool I can swim in without strange kids jumping on me. I want privacy and space. I want to go where I want, when I want.

I do not want a world without cars. I do not want to use public transportation. They will have to pry my steering wheel out of my cold dead hands.

About madderthanhell

Retired casting director. Mother of two daughters. Grandmother of twin boys and two step grandsons. Lived in California all my life. Co-organizer of two Tea Parties. Past member of Republican Central Committee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

