GET BACK ON THE BUS!

Wow! I look like I’ve been “rode hard and put away wet”. I’m a hot mess. My legs from the knee down are twice their normal size. I look as if I have Elephant man’s disease. This is the result of a seven day bus trip from Los Angeles to Washington, D.C. and back.

When I told my friends and family what I was going to do they said, “You’re going to do WHAT?” They all know my idea of roughing it is no valet parking. I knew going in this was going to be a tough trip but I believed this was an important opportunity and nothing would have prevented me from going.

The Black American Leadership Alliance (BALA) was organizing a Rally in Washington, D.C. against Amnesty and I wanted to be part of it because I think it’s important for the Black Community to know we stand with them. Why would we reward people who have already shown a disrespect for our laws, our culture, our language and our flag with our most precious gift, citizenship? From the last time Congress tried to pass Immigration Reform in 2006, I understood it would be devastating to this country but even more devastating to the Black Community. I couldn’t understand why Black leadership was supporting Amnesty. I kept hearing how the fight for Amnesty was the same as the fight for Civil Rights and I found that unbelievably insulting to Blacks. Blacks didn’t come here of their own free will. They didn’t break into the country or break any laws. To compare Civil Rights to Amnesty for people’s whose first act is to break our laws, is insulting. I have to wonder if the Black Leadership is willing to throw the Black Community under the bus to ensure a permanent Democrat majority……because that’s what this bill will do.

I met a wonderful and very diverse group of people I would normally not have had the opportunity to meet. I was surprised at how diverse. There were Christians, Jews, Muslims, Democrats, Republicans, Independents, a few doctors, several preachers, businessmen and women, veterans and a variety of young people. Understand, in a group of more than 80 people on two buses, I was the only white person. I think my being there provoked thought and discussions that wouldn’t have happened had I not gone. The only way we can come to understand each other is to spend time together. Talk about family, God, hopes and dreams, frustrations and fears. Though there were those who looked at me suspiciously, mostly I was warmly welcomed.

One of the first women I met as we gathered to get on the buses was telling the others that she learned the Tea Party was paying for this trip and she thought they shouldn’t go. I told them they shouldn’t care if Satan paid for the trip because the issue was too important and they needed to be heard. Whenever the Tea Party was mentioned on the trip it was with great distain. I wanted the Black Community to know the Tea Party was not their enemy and never has been. I am the Tea Party and I stand with them.

During the trip to D.C. the Zimmerman verdict came in and my traveling companions were very upset. I understood most of the group was emotionally invested in this trial but I also understood the evidence didn’t prove guilt. I sympathized with their anger and frustration and kept my opinion to myself. For the next few days there was a lot of talk about the verdict and the protests planned.

More news came during the trip that Thomas Perez was appointed as the new Secretary of Labor. Mr. Perez was the founder of a group that was against any immigration enforcement whatsoever. He is a big supporter of LaRaza and Sharia law. This is not good news for the Black Community. It is also troubling because Harry Reid changed the rules to prevent a filibuster against this nomination….something he raged against when Republicans threatened to do it when they were in the majority.

Ted Hayes was one of the organizers of the bus trip and I shared with him what I was learning and observing from the trip at the many stops along the way. I first heard about Ted Hayes in 2006 when he was having a protest against Amnesty. I was so happy someone from the Black Community was speaking truth to power. But where were the rest of the Blacks? I believe too many Black leaders who have the media’s attention do everything possible to keep pouring salt in old wounds and diverting attention from what is truly important to the lives of Blacks. I’ve heard Maxine Waters say the Tea Party should go straight to hell and she’d help them. She neglects to say what the Tea Party has done to harm Blacks. From my conversations with my fellow travelers, there are more issues they share with the Tea Party than not.

Buses from more than twenty states came to D.C. for the Rally on July 15th. We gathered about six blocks from Freedom Plaza and marched up Pennsylvania Avenue to the park. Congressman Steve King, in suit and tie, led the march in 100 degree heat. By the time we reached the park he was drenched. One of the men in our group told us later that when he entered the park carrying a large American flag, one of the other protestors, a white woman, came up to him and hugged him and said to him, “I’m so sorry for what we did to you”. He said he was very touched by that gesture. Our group from Los Angeles was the only all black (save me) group at the Rally. Most of the people participating in this rally were white and members of Tea Parties. I hope the members of my group who spoke of the Tea Party with such distain truly understood that these people weren’t just there in support of them, they took a week from their lives, traveled by bus from 20 odd states and marched in 100 degree heat to stand with them.

There were wonderful speakers, some I doubt our group would have listened to before this. Congressman King is a true conservative and since most of our group is not, I doubt they’ve ever heard him speak. Louisiana State Senator Elbert Guillory, who recently and eloquently changed his party affiliation from Democrat to Republican spoke. Senator Ted Cruz spoke and told us how the Immigration Bill incentivizes employers to hire the newly legal immigrants over American citizens because they will be exempt from ObamaCare for several years. Employers have to provide insurance or pay a $3000 fine for each American employee but if they hire the exempt new citizens, they won’t have to pay a fine. Some of our group asked me if he was lying. They are very suspicious of Conservatives, but apparently I’ve earned their trust and I told them it was true. Allen West spoke, Jesse Lee Peterson, Ted Hayes and many others spoke of how devastating legalizing 20 million illegal aliens will be to the black community.

There are 9 million fewer jobs now than 2009. Unemployment is higher for longer than ever in my life and much higher in the Black Community (14%, 57% for Black youths). Legal immigration brings in 125 thousand new citizens every month. We’ve been adding 80 to 100 thousand jobs a month. We don’t have enough jobs for the legal immigrants and the Immigration Bill not only legalizes the 20 million (don’t kid yourself, it’s NOT 11 million) illegal aliens, it doubles legal immigration. Whose jobs are they going to take?

Blacks need jobs. Dignity and self esteem comes from hard work. Eighty percent of all our jobs come from small businesses. Drive down any street in Los Angeles and you will see four or five closed businesses on every block. The regulations and high taxes imposed on businesses by Liberal policies are causing businesses to either go out of business or move to other countries. The priorities of this administration were ObamaCare, Amnesty and Cap and Trade. Every one of these is bad for the economy and therefore bad for businesses. President Obama just told us he was going to impose Cap and Trade next through executive order and the EPA. Remember Cap and Trade was voted down by a Democrat majority. Congress makes laws, not executive orders.

There is no reason to regulate CO2. God created this Earth. Plants take in CO2 and give off oxygen, we breath in oxygen and exhale CO2 for plants to take in. Do you really believe God would create an Earth that could be destroyed by the air we exhale? CO2 has been as much as seventeen times higher than now. It didn’t destroy the world then and it isn’t now. Cap and Trade will cause the cost of energy to “skyrocket” which will cause the cost of everything to skyrocket. How will that help the Black Community? Or the economy?

I learned so much from this trip. I am honored to have been in such fascinating company. I met people who will always be important to me. We eat and slept and marched together. We prayed together often. I was so impressed with the young people who came on the trip. They were well mannered, well spoken and nicely dressed. The Black Community needs to become the spokespeople against Amnesty. They were not immigrants, they were brought here against their will and helped build this country. If we can’t stop this bill from passing White people will become a minority for the first time in our history and Blacks will become an even smaller minority. We’ll be at the back of the bus together.

About madderthanhell

Retired casting director. Mother of two daughters. Grandmother of twin boys and two step grandsons. Lived in California all my life. Co-organizer of two Tea Parties. Past member of Republican Central Committee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GET BACK ON THE BUS!

  1. callyjo11 says:

    Glad you have returned safely. Sounds like quite a trip!

    FYI: Rep. Steve King attracted attention — and criticism from Republican leaders — for saying of immigrants who came to the U.S. illegally as children: “For every one who’s a valedictorian, there’s another 100 out there that they weigh 130 pounds and they’ve got calves the size of cantaloupes because they’re hauling 75 pounds of marijuana across the desert.” King later told CNN that he had data to back up his claim, saying, “This isn’t something made up in thin air.” But, so far, he hasn’t produced any such information.
    At FactCheck.org, we put the burden of proof on the politician making the claim. We contacted King’s office about his assertion but haven’t received a response yet.
    King entered into the Congressional Record on July 24 an Associated Press story in relation to his comments. But that March 14, 2012, story merely said there had been an increase between 2008 and 2011 in apprehensions of 14- to 18-year-olds attempting to cross the Tijuana-San Diego border with the intent to sell drugs. A U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement spokeswoman told the AP that 190 had been arrested at that border crossing in 2011. There is nothing in the article about so-called “DREAMers” — those who came to the U.S. illegally as children and are eligible to stay in the U.S. temporarily under Obama administration rules. That’s the group of immigrants to which King said he referred.
    It’s probably not possible to actually check this claim. We contacted Immigration and Customs Enforcement, U.S. Customs and Border Protection and the Pew Hispanic Center to see if they had statistics directly applicable to King’s statement. None did.

    • I’m aware of Congressman King’s claim. I can tell you from personal knowledge that many of the “Dreamers” are members of the most violent gangs in the world here in Los Angeles. Congressman King was simply saying we have to look at the individual not the collective. “Dreamers” AREN’T all good students and angels. I also personally know a legal resident who made his living making monthly trips to Mexico to pick up wood for flooring. Considering the fact he owned a $1.5 million home he picked up more than flooring. He was killed in a trip several years ago and his son is ready to continue the family business. From my observations it is the rare child raised in minority communities who isn’t in a gang in Los Angeles. I don’t know how many studies have been done on this, if any. But I work with several groups who are working with minority kids to keep them out of gangs and into colleges and they are the exception not the rule.

      I sorry but I believe if you chose to break the law, you have to be prepared to suffer the consequences. I don’t support legalizing “Dreamers” simply because they were brought here as children.

Leave a Reply

